Calligram

We were asked to design a sequential narrative calligram book based on the poem by William Blake “London”. I will talk about the poem itself a bit more in my next blog.

Let me explain first the term calligram for those who are not familiar with it.

“Calligram is a word or piece of text in which the design and layout of the letters creates a visual image related to the meaning of the words themselves”.

Few examples:

 

My very first sketch for the first stanza. I need to create minimum 8 pages so good luck to me. I had to analyse the poem first in order to understand the mood in it and the message that author was trying to deliver.

I wander thro’ each charter’d street,
Near where the charter’d Thames does flow,

We also had to pick one of the archetypes, which I have talked about in one of my previous blogs Brand Archetypes . I have chosen “rebel” and my job now is to think how can I reflect that visually in the lines and typography.

Here is what I have created so far in Adobe Illustrator. Getting there slowly. It does take time as I am a beginner in Adobe Apps. I am not sure if there is a better way to do a calligram digitally but that’s what I have managed to create randomly.

CALLIGRAM 1.jpg

 

When I look at it now as a picture I can see how I could arrange the letters better so as it is easier to tell what it is.Obviously I would have to to remove the lines after I placed all the text.

I must say that is time-consuming so I may do only 2 pages and then do the rest by hand using different mark making techniques.

Leave a Reply

