Thinking with our eyes..

There is so much more to drawing than we would’ve thought. Learning to draw is learning to see. Drawing is a universal language- you can share the message, a story without using any language. Visual language is all you need in order to communicate.

“Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up”

When we are children our view on world is different. We are free to be who we are and our imagination is greater. We don’t have any barriers imposed on our imagination and we are not afraid to express ourselves.

When we enter adulthood we are influenced by ideology imposed on us by media, by other people’s views. Our head is filled with everyday issues and our mind gets trapped in a certain way of thinking. I would say that life is getting in the way of being free to run our imagination wild. We also worry too much about how we will be perceived and we choose to stay in our comfort zone.

With me personally as I get older I regain control over my way of thinking and living. I don’t let anyone to impose limitation on what I say and how I say it. I don’t worry anymore if anyone is going to like me and my art, I don’t look for acceptance because If I did I would lose myself in the process. I believe that once you go throught that process of growing up you become young again. Not caring anymore feels like being able to take a deep breath again.

I don’t grow up I just get older. My inner child is still alive and it’s here to stay.

Speaking of childhood, we were sent to the museum of childhood to explore man-made objects which I previously blogged about Little escape… Our task was to sketch the objects using a wide range of medium and bearing in mind that we don’t just look with our eyes but with all of our senses.

Here just few examples of my stuff

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

I have used a polymer clay to give it that plastic, shiny look. One disadvantage is that it gets squashed in the sketchbook and because it’s a bit oily it leaves smudges.


Soft toy clown 1964

This type of toy which was big and had bright colours was a shock after 1940 and 1950 where it wasn’t available. This is the reason why I have used bright, neon colours to highlight that.


The amazing dancing Charlie Illusion 1940

I have used Chinese ink in order to give it that old look from 40’s.


One thought on “Thinking with our eyes..

Leave a Reply

