Hand lettering using Adobe Capture CC, Illustrator and Photoshop.

This tutorial teaches you how to digitise and enhance your own hand writing. This is very useful for beginners like me.

Follow this tutorial and then you can create your own version with your own hand-drawn letters and background.

https://helpx.adobe.com/uk/mobile-apps/how-to/lettering.html?set=photoshop–key-techniques–photoshop-other-apps

This is what I have created following this tutorial and amending few things as I never strictly follow the instructions. It’s very good for beginners but I must admit it took me too long as I have encountered problems with syncing my Creative Cloud account with Adobe Capture CC, which I have not used before. Also it never goes smooth when you don’t know what you doing. Me and the technology are not the best of friends.

hand-lettering

hand-ting

You can you use background of your choice, texture on top of it and there is so much that you can do with the lettering too. Unfortunately on this occasion Creative Cloud gave up on me so I have used my graphic pad to do my letters rather than Adobe Capture CC.

my-handwriting

Not too bad for a beginner but I think “my hand writing” is not very readable. Maybe I could have used darker colours or keep the design simpler or maybe it’s just too squashed. It was more of a hit-and miss practice trying out new things as well as using the knowledge I acquiried learning about CS Package.

Once you have the text created you can use this tutorial in order to transform it. I have used it before to do my CS Package sign.

https://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/how-to/free-transform-text-touchup-illustrator.html

cs-package
Now that I look at it more, it looks a bit trashy. Like they say more is less.

Now I know why I have always run away from digital packages: it’s very much time-consuming and frustrating when things don’t go as planned. However the more I practice using it the more enjoyable it becomes. Blogging will help me to track my progress and hopefully I will laugh at this post one day. My focus at the moment is on things that I am not good at rather than hiding in my comfort zone. And on this note I shall quote Picasso

“I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it.”

Leave a Reply

