“Everything you can imagine is real”-Pablo Picasso

I have never been overly excited about Pablo Picasso’s work but I love how he doesn’t follow any rules and that doing realistic paintings is not what he is about even though he can do so very well. When I was younger I remember I found his pictures rather creepy but now I enjoy it a lot more. It has a lot of colours (apart from the blue period paintings), shapes and there is a lot going on on his paintings.

I have a great admiration for him as a person though. I think that his wisdom is huge and I find him inspirational. It feels good being able to refer to someone and agree with them on many levels. I always like to know the person behind the art. If you are a nasty person you cannot cover it up with your art. You are your art.

pablo-picasso

“The purpose of art is washing the dust of daily life off our souls.”

Art is an escape for many. Life is serious and hard enough that is why I like my drawings to rather mock than contemplate life.

“I paint objects as I think them, not as I see them. “

 I have talked about being a visual communicator in my blog Thinking with our eyes.. Sometimes I think that my art doesn’t leave room for thinking? maybe it’s too obvious? I am work in progress.

“Never permit a dichotomy to rule your life, a dichotomy in which you hate what you do so you can have pleasure in your spare time. Look for a situation in which your work will give you as much happiness as your spare time. “

My main aim and I believe everyone else’s, is to be doing for a living what you love best.

“Youth has no age”

I always laugh how all the people suddenly become mathematicians and care about numbers such as age. Age for me is physical thing but when it comes to your soul that doesn’t always reflect on it. I never appreciate when someone tries to tell me what I should and shouldn’t do at my age.

“Only put off until tomorrow what you are willing to die having left undone.”

Procrastinating is always present in everyone’s life. This is such a wise statement. I think I may have to print it off and hang around my flat.

Leave a Reply

