Dieter Rams

Have you ever used Braun products like shavers, radios etc? We all have but we never give a second thought about the person that is behind the design.

Dieter Rams, a German designer is a mastermind when it comes to industrial design. I really admire his approach and agree with most of his principles. Rams very much values simplicity, you have to be confident to dare to be simple. Being simple can make you vulnerable, but simplicity is an achievement because it show your clarity on what matters.

braun-radio
Braun radio 

That is what I struggle with sometimes. I like the simplicity in my art but I can’t help and worry that I haven’t focused on the main points or I haven’t made it clear enough for people to understand it. That’s why I start to explain my work without even giving people a chance to look at it.

Here are his 10 principles of good design:

  1. Good design is innovative
  2. Good design makes a product useful
  3. Good design is aesthetic 
  4. Good design makes a product understandable
  5. Good design is unobtrusive
  6. Good design is honest
  7. Good design is long-lasting
  8. Good design is thorough to the last detail
  9. Good design is environmentally-friendly
  10. Good design is as little design as possible
dieter-rams-design
Sketches of his designs

Even though I don’t see myself designing any electrical items anytime soon those principles apply to any design. It’s not always about following principles that worked for some but it is good to take advice from those who became successful and it worked for them.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

