Laura Carlin and Hannah Warren

When I visit the House of Illustration this is the type of work I see most. No defined lines, no specific structure and black marks but yet expressed emotions in a way that is easy to read. It does the job as it should though. There is a lot going on in the picture and the drawings look rather childish. I have decided to blog about both artists at the same time as their style is similar.


♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ LAURA CARLIN ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥


 

Is this type of style loved because it takes us back to childhood or because we like simplicity and the dreamy type of art when nothing is obvious? This is when you need to use a lot of imagination.

I find some of her work witty and pleasant for the eye but I am not overly excited about it. Maybe I just haven’t seen enough and with time as I learn more about the industry I will start liking it more? I won’t know until it happens.


HANNAH WARREN ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥


This artist’s work appeals more to me and it’s because of the brightest colours, the combination of it and more defined lines. The more I explore her work the more I getting into it.


I do have an open mind to various styles that are totally different from mine and when I say I am not overly excited about something it doesn’t mean that I don’t like it.

At this stage of my studies I question everything I do. I do recognise what are my weaknesses and even though I do like some of the things that I do I need to take other people’s opinion into consideration because in the end of the day my art is not just for me to enjoy. I have found my own style of drawing but I am not 100% convinced that is what I want to stick with for good. An experimentation and research I will only make it more interesting by adding variations to it and opening more opportunities for improvement. I am still looking for that moment where I can say “that is it”. If don’t find it by the end of the studies then I am screwed ha.

I’ve promised myself not to play safe anymore but it looks like I still do. Coming out of your comfort zone is not as easy as it seems. I keep forgetting that my head is free from the strict rules, procedures etc which I always had to follow while working for finance. Trying out new things may feel a bit strange at times because you don’t know whether it will work or not but if you don’t try then you won’t know.

http://www.lauracarlin.com/

http://www.hannahwarren.com/

http://jellylondon.com/

Leave a Reply

