And the winner is….

After watching BBC programme “The Turner Prize 2016- The Nominees” day before the result have been actually announced I was so intrigued that I decided to see it for myself since I had some time off.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b0850cp3/the-turner-prize-2016-the-nominees

Tate Britain happened to be situated just across the river from one of my old workplaces where I have worked for a third-party debt management company. So pardon me but I had some message for them….

img_9873

It’s good to be on the right side of the river now ūüôā


THE WINNER: HELEN MARTEN


She brings together a range of handmade and found objects from daily life. It has a playful intent, creating poetic, visual puzzle. I must say that is exactly what it does to you-leaves you puzzled.

img_9759


ANTHEA HAMILTON


My friends wouldn’t be surprised if I said this artist was my favourite.

Inspired by a photograph showing a model by Italian designer Gaetano Pesce. Originally intended as a doorway to New York apartment. This made everyone giggle and attracted most attention.

big-bum

This is something that I would wear myself to be honest. Love it.

img_9776

And some¬†iron virgin pants as I called it. I was a bit dissapointed to find out that this beautiful sky was made by someone else so as the giant butt wasn’t painted by Anthea herself.

anthea


JOSEPHINE PRYDE


This was a brilliant idea. Items left on a kitchen worktop in a sunlight in London, Athens and Berlin.

Class 66 diesel locomotive. The carriages are tagged by graffiti artists from the cities where the train was previously exhibited.


MICHAEL DEAN


Ok so £20,436 is what government states is the minimum a family of 4, two adults and two children can survive in a year. Really? People who get shit loads of money can just decide without living a life of an average person? This is £20,436 in pennies without one penny which he removed to make it one penny less than the poverty line.

I am pretty sure he wasn’t the only one removing pennies ha

michael-dean

Hmm is this the secret to his creativity?

img_9813

Hmmm naughty shadow breaking the rules…

img_9835

I think that the comment board was the best part of the exhibition….

img_9858

notice-board

img_9854

img_9855

And on your way out there was more butts and some over excited guy…

That is just one way to hang your Christams tree. This is rather anti-children and anti-cat.

tree

Overall it was good to see the exhibition for myself plus had a chance to see what’s new in Tate Britain since I haven’t been here for a while. I was kind of hoping that if I see their art for myself especially winner’s Helen Marten I would understand it more. I must say that without the description on the wall I wouldn’t know much what she meant by it. This is type of art that I am not so much keen on but I will always give it a chance.

One comment

Leave a Reply

